A little insight into Colour

” I found I could say things with colour and shapes that I couldn’t say any other way – things I had no words for ” – Georgia O’Keeffe

I’ve known that I would be a designer since I was about 8 . I announced it to my parents and they began helping me build that dream into a reality . Image It wasn’t until I was placed in the kids department at Foschini, designing for the Gossip Girls range , did I realise there was something free  and fun about designing little things.

I enjoyed playing with colour , and the simplicity of expression in children meant I could do things with kids garments that I just couldn’t do with adult clothing.

An added benefit of having tiny people as customers is their honesty when shopping .  If they hate something , they say it without fear of judgement , and just the same , if they love it , the reward of a bubbling child in his or her new outfit is so rewarding. Colourful things have always elicited the best  , most memorable reactions from , ” Mom , don’t you know that Pink is another word pretty?  ”  to , ” Mom , this colour is lime green , and I think it’s the happiest colour in the world ” from two under 5 year olds.

Colour brings out light and confidence in children , let them play with it abundantly and they will grow into interesting adults . What’s your child’ s favourite colour? What colours would you like to see in the next KuNa collection?  

Leave a Reply

